I2S read is which channel? (Frame select)

Hello.

I am trying to read I2S data (I can set as either slave or master, but that's not important)

The trouble is there is fundamental information missing from the reference - the read() function reads only ONE sample from the I2S data line, however I2S is stereo which obviously means that the data should be in PAIRS - so how do I know which data sample I just read, i.e. LEFT or RIGHT?

I am an Arduino newbie but I have searched on yonder and found no information on this or even the possibility of this troubling anyone so I'm not sure if I'm simply missing something.

Currently I am doing this which seems to work, but other times it receives garbage possibly from the other channel which is muted - so it is a bit hit and miss.

:
    if ( I2S.available() > 1 )
    {
          sample_arr[num_samples++] = I2S.read();

I2S.read(); // skip other channel (?)

if ( num_samples >= max_samples )
            state = 2; // complete
    }
:

Secondly I'd like to move to reading on interrupt, so its even more important to know which sample is which on interrupt - if anyone has information on that also, greatly appreciated!

Sorry for the bad news but you only have one channel. You need to identify the packets as either left or right, that is in the protocol you write. You can make them 1 byte longer and preface it with a L or a R. I hope this helps!

Thanks for the reply.

However I am not writing any protocol. I am actually attempting to read the output of WM8731 which uses the standard I2S protocol. So how do I know which sample I just read after using the read() function? LEFT or RIGHT? It would make sense also not to muddle these up, let's say if I missed a sample.