IDE defects

The idea that the IDE is for "amateurs" and "professionals" love doing things the hard way seems to be the basis of any number of bad decisions.

For example, if I click "download", the IDE feels a compulsion to recompile my code (even though I have made no changes). Fine, except that the Adafruit Trinket is receptive to downloads for only 10 seconds, but it takes more than 10 seconds to recompile before the download starts. When I say "download", I mean "download". If I want to recompile, I should have a "compile and download" button.

avrdude has an unbelievably complex command line. In a sane world, this command line would be displayed in the output window, and if I needed to create a script file that does the download, I could copy it and paste it into a script file. But no, I'm "protected" from such "confusing" knowledge. As a professional, I have zero interest in learning how to do low-level nitty-gritty details that are boring.

When I say "download", I mean "download". I don't want any favors done for me.

I cannot locate a way to move to the next error. Perhaps I have not searched far enough, but I can't find it.

A string of the form

Serial.print(") = [);

that is, missing the quote at the end of the string (between the [ and ), seemed to put the IDE into some kind of infinite Java exception loop. However, I have been unable to re-create this in other than my full program (about 1000 lines). As soon as I get a solid repro, I will post it. The only way to fix it is to use Task Manager to kill the IDE process and restart.

I was told that ATmega328P is defined for Adafruit Uno R3 builds, but in fact it does not appear to be defined, and I am unable to find any "official" document describing preprocessor symbols. I was also told that, for some bizarre reason, if I do something like

#ifdef ATmega328P
#include "whatever.h"
#else
#include "tinywhatever.h"
#endif