Ideas for Traffic Counter

Hi!

First of all, I’m a complete noob about anything Arduino related. In fact, I don’t even have a board… yet.

I work in the transit (traffic?) department of a townhall (in Portugal), and I’ve been searching for cheap, easy to use traffic counters.

On my search, I found this project. I didn’t read it to detail, but I understood it’s principle: there’s a hose connected to a pressure sensor that detects changes in the air pressure inside the hose when a vehicle passes.

It’s chep and easy to use, but I can find some limitations:
1- the hose will eventually break;
2- it requires objects to be layed on the road;
3- it can’t cope with heavy traffic (see 1);
4- I didn’t read the code, but I assume it counts every two pressure changes as one vehicle, assuming two axels per vehicle. So… what about trucks?

(5- it won’t give additional information, such as speed and/or direction - not exactly a limitation, but…)

Having this limitations in mind, I thought about a different design, something that doesn’t requires physical contact with the vehicle. This led me to two options: IR sensors or ultrasonic sensors (or maybe a combination of both)

Idea for IR Sensors

The way I see this working is a continuous IR beam that is interrupted when a vehicle passes between the emitter and the receiver, thus counting one vehicle.
This design requires an emitter and a receiver, since there are no IR sensors that receive their own emissions (or are there?) and cars may not reflect light that well, or even if they do, it might not be in the direction of the sensor.
With this in mind, we have the limitation nº2 mentioned before, because the car has to pass between the emitter and the receiver, wich means one of them has to be placed in the middle of the road.