Identifying rogue inputs

Good Evening,

I am a Mature Foundation year student and struggling a little bit.

Very simple sketch, but i want to differentiate when a number is input rather than a letter.

I actually want the Serial window to tell me that "whatever" is not a letter, and tell me to input a letter

I suppose i am looking for the opposite of the JS command (isNaN)

Would appreciate any pointers

Here is my code

/*Scott Lambert
 Forum code*/

char char_input(0);

void setup()  {         //as always

Serial.begin(9600);    // setting port transfer speed
        Serial.println( "  Please input a letter  ");  // serial monitor to display text encased in quotes
}

void loop() {            // as always

charFunction();

}

void charFunction()  {

if(Serial.available() == true)    //checks if there has been an input
{
          {
        char_input =  Serial.read();      

}  

Serial.print("your input was    ");
                  delay (1000);
                  Serial.print(char_input);

}}

Thanks

Scott

check out what the JS command was based on: ctype.h: int isalpha(int c) int isdigit(int c) int isxdigit(int c) ...

Since you are working with one character at a time it will be sufficient to determine if that character is a leter or not.

if (!isalpha(char_input))
       Serial.print("not a letter.");
    else
        Serial.print(char_input);

There are also library functions for classifying characters: isnum(), isspace(), isalpha(). Just include ctype.h

http://www.nongnu.org/avr-libc/user-manual/group__ctype.html

You are receiving single characters, which aren't actually characters, but their ASCII values. You can check the value to be in a range to be specified by you, and build a filter with that. I think that might help you do this.

I guess the above answers using ctype.h will be easier.

Take a look at the values Ascii gives to each char on the keyboard. Look at the way 0…9, a…z and A…Z are arranged,

0 has the value x then 1 is x+1 2 is x+2 etc,