if and else clause help

Hello there,
Please be patient as I am very much a beginner. I've worked through quite a lot of Earthshine Electronic's beginners manual but I regret to say it was starting to go over my head... and I've scrutinised Banzi's 'getting started' booklet. That's what you're dealing with here :slight_smile:

I'm studying art part time. What I want to make is something that will wiggle a magnet underneath some ferrofluid when someone comes near it.

So I've got a mini servo. And I've worked out how to get that to move using the 'sweep' code on this website.

And I've got a sharps IR sensor. And I have used the 'analogreadserial' code to get a number from that.

I'm not trying to do anything clever, I just want the IR to trigger the movement of the servo if someone comes near, giving a reading between 100 and 300. (Sadly I'm not even sure how to do that, so I figured I'd start with it if it was just above 100.)

So I figured I could combine the two bits of code and that would be a start. But I really can't figure out the syntax so that it is acceptable.

Do I not need it to say 'if (the number from the IR is between 100 and 300) do the wiggling'
'else (wait for a bit)'??
Because then if it does trigger the wiggling, it'll just wiggle the once and then stop. And then it'll check again to see if anyone's still nearby.

This is what I've got so far. Can anyone tell me what the matter is? I'm sorry to have to ask but I don't know where else to go. I don't know how to get myself from utter beginner to remotely self-sufficient :frowning:
many thanks for any pointers,
Epona

/*this is taken from the analogreadserial code and the sweep code*/

#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo
                // a maximum of eight servo objects can be created

int pos = 0;    // variable to store the servo position

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);

myservo.attach(9);  // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object}
}