if and for statements

Gdday all, I’m new to all this so please bear with me on my learning curve.
I’m using an if statement followed by a for statement after and the code won’t run. Am I going about this the wrong way?

I’ve remmed out the rest of the code and this seems to be the problem

if ((Lefthand == HIGH) && (brake == LOW) && (Haz == LOW)) // taking off with brakes off, lights still flashing
// timing out
for(int i = 0; i < 5;i++) { // timer at 10 seconds
Serial.println (i);

digitalWrite (Lefthandout,HIGH); // left flasher lights on
delay (froot); // delay on time
digitalWrite (Lefthandout,LOW); // left flasher lights off
delay (froot); // delay off time

}

Cheers Steve

Oh, if there’s any forum issues with etiquette etc. please let me know - I’m a 52 y.o. newbie :slight_smile:

Please:

1. what do you want the program do?
  2. What the program does?
  3. put your complete code
  4. use tag codes

Other than poor style, there’s nothing fundamentally wrong with the snippet you posted. Beyond that can’t be speculated. The code runs (making the obvious changes to stand alone). the for statement should be enclosed in braces and terminated with a semi-colon. In a larger framework, this will cause problems and be be the source of your’s. Without seeing your code, that’s all you get.

the for statement should be enclosed in braces and terminated with a semi-colon.

Did you mean what you wrote ? If so can you please explain what you meant ?

UKHeliBob: Did you mean what you wrote ? If so can you please explain what you meant ?

The if statement has no { and there is no } after the for {} statement.

I’d also have have written it like this, as has been suggested. You’d have to do this anyway if you add further statements after the for statement which are conditioned by the if statement.

if ((Lefthand == HIGH) && (brake == LOW) && (Haz == LOW)) {  // taking off with brakes off, lights still flashing
		// timing out