If else you else my if else question. If else question

Hello, im currently somewhat new to arduino and I am trying to do a project that involves a HC-SR04 ultrasonic range finder. For testing purposes I currently have it set up so I can see when im within a specified distance in CM by LED lights. I currently use the serial monitor to see the distance that the range finder is detecting.

What I want to work-
When the distance is above 100 cms, turn the blue led on.
when the distance is below 99 cms turn the red led on
if it detects 0, no LEDs will light. ( any distance above “MAX_DISTANCE” results in 0 which is intended.)

What currently happens-
If it reads ANY distance it goes blue
if it reads 0 the red led goes on.

Im almost certain the issue is in the if statement. but after much experimentation I cannot figure it out.

I plan to increase the complexity of the if statements to become more accurate once i get the fundamentals working.

below is the code and a picture of my setup
The code is attached as well

Thanks in advance!

#include <NewPing.h>

#define ledred 6
#define ledblue 8
#define TRIGGER_PIN 12 // Arduino pin tied to trigger pin on the ultrasonic sensor.
#define ECHO_PIN 11 // Arduino pin tied to echo pin on the ultrasonic sensor.
#define MAX_DISTANCE 200 // Maximum distance we want to ping for (in centimeters). Maximum sensor distance is rated at 400-500cm.

NewPing sonar(TRIGGER_PIN, ECHO_PIN, MAX_DISTANCE); // NewPing setup of pins and maximum distance.

void setup() {
Serial.begin(115200); // Open serial monitor at 115200 baud to see ping results.
pinMode(ledred, OUTPUT);
pinMode(ledblue, OUTPUT);

// Ideas for the future
//else if ( (uS > 100) && (uS <= 20) ) example of code I found on forum that says should fix my issue.
// (( uS > 100) && (uS <= (MAX_DISTANCE - 20) ) This is my own version, It needs tested.

}

void loop() {

unsigned int uS = sonar.ping(); // Send ping, get ping time in microseconds (uS).