If not from a C/C++ background, what is your programming language background?

My first experience was self taught BASIC on one of the very early generation home computers. (Which was some kind of Z80 based TRS80 knock off btw.)

After that I briefly learnt a little bit of Fortran, but it was on an incredibly ancient mainframe with some really old version of the compiler. The main thing I remember about that was how much it "sucked", though TBH I've since had some exposure to more modern versions of the language and didn't really mind it.

After that I learnt Pascal and it very quickly became my favorite language. In a way, Pascal and it's cousin Delphi kept me from learning too much C/C++. I've been semi fluent in C for a long time but could never really bring myself write code in C when I knew I code do it more quickly with a lot less required debugging in Pascal/Delphi.

Also, back in the proverbial day, I programmed a bit in assembler. This is going back a long way though, back to when the Intel 8085 was all shiny and new and the 8048 was cutting edge in micro controllers (the two main platforms I used with asm).

Just wondering what is the programming background of other members?

Well, lets see. First there was real machine language on a Monrobot MkII. then there was autocoder on IBM 1401 and 1440. Then ADPAC on 1401 and IBM 360. Then Fortran and RPG on IBM 360 And assembly on IBM 360. Later, COBOL on Burroughs medium systems, later BPL on the same systems. Then interactive COBOL on Data General minis. Also did Pascal on IBM PC. Then there was 6502 assembly on Apple II series. Then interactive COBOL, assembly and C on IBM PC series. Finally Motorolla 68000 assembly. And more recently, C for the Arduino. I tried Visual Basic on IBM PC. And sometime I did Basic on Apple II and IBM PC.

I tried to understand C++ on IBM PC, but could not overcome the verbosity to achieve what could be done in C and produce a really small resulting code. Must be more!

Paul