If statement troubles..

First off…I would like to say i am new at this
I have only been messing with arduino and programming them for about a month

But I understand its concepts and some of things involved with programming it
How ever…I have been struggling with an “if” statement that I am working on

First I have an Arduino uno and and ethernet shield.

I am trying something basic with a program I found that
user name Colagrosso had on Github
its called AVVISO… its a sketch and set of libraries that send a push notification to you phone
when its ran…but the sketch he provides…does it one time after a count down

well i have it to work as he set it up for…
but I am trying to modify it to work with and "if statement and send the notification to my phone
lets say…
If front door is open send message to phone until door is shut
So I have pin 8 on the controller that im using to try to get it to work
(I have other pins setup for a window and lights…if I get the door to work…but only trying for pin 8 right now)

When I run it…it does not wait for Voltage to appear on that pin…it just goes through and sends and sends and sends
I know its something wrong with my use of “if” statement…or something
Maybe I Shouldn’t be using the “if” statement in this instance…but I’m really not sure what to do…
any help would be greatly appreciated .
The code is below

Thanks

nick

#include <SPI.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>
#include <HTTPClient.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>
#include <Avviso.h>
#define DEBUG 1
byte mac[] = { 0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };

int counterValue;      //maybe used for a counter if needed
int Front = 8;      //front door switch
int Fopen = 7;     //front door open output if i add a light
int Window = A1;    //window switch
int Wopen = 6;    //window open output light if i add add a light

void setup() {
  counterValue = 10;
  pinMode(Front, INPUT);     //made front switch an input
  pinMode(Fopen, OUTPUT);     //made front output for light