If with Millis() not counting as expected with greater than equation [SOLVED]

Hello, please bare with me. I’m new to both Arduino and the C++ language so it might be something easy. I’ve played with my code in every possible way I can imagine, including putting my math into Serial.println’s as to find out what’s happening. But I still don’t get it.

Below is my code, what I’m doing is using button1 to trigger relay1 for 8 seconds using the Millis() command. As you can see I’ve used Serial as much as I can and below my code is what I’m seeing through serial. It appears to sort of work when the Millis is under 8000 but as soon as it higher the math I’m using doesn’t seem to be working the way I’ve read everywhere else.

What am I missing? I’m sorry if I’m repeating a common issue but I’ve had a look around and can’t seem to find it. Thank you in advance.

Then while I’ve got your expertise I’m going to make this a sub program and am wondering how do I make all the 1’s a variable i.e. relay(1, 8000) then place the 1 after the int’s - relay and button. Or 2’s in the case of relay(2, 10).

Thank you

int relay1 = 41; //Setting of relay pin
int button1 = 31; //Setting of button pin
unsigned long timerMillis1; //Using an unsigned long to store a Millis entry

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600); //Start the serial monitoring
digitalWrite(button1, HIGH); //Tell the Arduino to hold the button pin high
digitalWrite(relay1, HIGH); //Push relay pin high to keep normally open position
pinMode(relay1,OUTPUT); //State that the relay pin is an output
}

void loop() {
if (digitalRead(relay1) == HIGH) { //Is the relay closed waiting to open
if (digitalRead(button1) == LOW) { //Is the button depressed
unsigned long timerMillis1 = millis(); //Freeze a Millis to compair for timeout
digitalWrite(relay1, LOW); //Open the relay
Serial.print("Button pressed for relay 1, timerMillis is: ");
Serial.println(“timerMillis1”); //Print the Millis to serial
}