IIC trouble (Solved)

I will preface this with the fact that I am relatively new to Arduino but I have some prior experience with coding and solder less prototyping. I bought an Arduino mega 2560 as well as jumper wires and a 20x4 LCD screen to go with it. The screen has a IIC adapter soldered onto it. Every time I try to get the screen to print anything it will go black, flicker, or have a weird grainy effect. I used multiple different codes to try to get it to work with the aforementioned results still happening. This is the link to the screen on amazon if I should have bought a different one -

I also have my own crude code attached if there is anything wrong with it.

screen_test.ino (234 Bytes)

The I2C pins on a Mega are pin 20 (SDA) and pin 21 (SCL). Is that how your display is connected?

It is often very helpful if you post photos of the wiring of your display. Show the solder joints on the connection between the backpack and LCD.

For an I2C LCD display to work, the I2C address and the I2C backpack to LCD pin mapping must be correct. If the library default settings for either or both are not correct the LCD will not work. You can try to figure out the right pin mapping and use an I2C scanner to find the address, but if you install and use the hd44780 library that is done automatically by the library.

Install the hd44780 library. The hd44780 library is the best available for I2C LCDs. The library is available in the Library Manager. Go to Library Manager (in the IDE menus, Sketch, Include Libraries, Manage Libraries) and in the Topics dropdown choose Display and in the Filter your search box enter hd44780. Select and install the hd44780 library by Bill Perry.

The class that you want to use is the hd44780_I2Cexp class. There are examples to show how to use the library. The nice thing about the hd44780 library is that it will autodetect the I2C address and the I2C backpack to LCD pin mapping.