ILI9341 SPI Ebay Displays

Hi All,

I know that this has been asked many times before, but I can't seem to get these working.

I am using a logic converter but still can't get it working. If I supply the Arduino with a 4.5v PSU causing it to run 3v3 logic, it works, but I know that's not ideal.

Wiring for the logic converter;

HV ---- Arduino 5V
LV ---- Arduino 3V3
GND ---- Tied Ground

HV1-HV5 to Arduino SPI Pins
LV1-LV5 to Display SPI Pins

VCC and LED I have tried with both 3V3 and 5V with no change in behavior.

I am fairly new to this, so any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advanced.
Fady

Personally, I run the AVR at 3.3V. No need for any level shifter.

I have never tried 5V with that style of level shifter module but I do have some of those modules.
I would expect them to work fine with an AVR 8Mhz SPI. Less likely with 40Mhz or 80Mhz SPI.

Post a photo of your wiring.

David.

Thanks mate, pictures attached.

Fady

Seriously. Just strip the breadboard down to Mega + TFT. Show which colour wire is going to which SPI pin i.e. D50-D53. Which colour goes from DC, RST to which digital# pins.

I am pleased that you use different coloured wires. It still comes down to correct routeing.
If your photo shows this clearly foreign eyes can spot a problem. e.g. if wires are pulled straight.
If you document your wiring colour scheme it makes it easier for a remote observer.

At the end of the day, my wiring is 9 wires from TFT board to 3.3V Seeeduino.
Your wiring would be 9 wires from TFT. 6 of them via level-shifters to 5V Mega.

I never use trailing wires. I always make an Adapter with a Protoshield. Protoshield wiring is soldered.

David.

Hi Mate,

Sorry about that, Clearly that was never going to make much sense to anyone else but me. :slight_smile:

Description of the way it’s cabled up.

Colour - TFT - Level Converter - Arduino

red VCC N/A 5V
Black Gnd N/A Gnd
Yellow CS LV5/HV5 55
Grey Rst LV4/HV4 46
White DC LV3/HV3 47
Blue MOSI LV2/HV2 51