I'm completely new to Arduino and need help

Hey, I had a great idea for the Arduino, combining three principle ingredients: Arduino, POV technology, and pico projectors.

It would be similar in concept to spinning POV displays like those found on hackaday (look up "ceiling fan pov," "RGBike pov," and "RGBike pov 2")

The idea is to attach it to a fan, but put in a pico projector, not little LEDs. That way one could project the image/video on a wall, instead of viewing a simple animation or pattern on the blades.

There are some other more complex ideas for this to be expanded into, but being new to Arduinos, I though I would stick with the basics:

The Arduino would be used to keep track of the fan's position for the POV part, and then it would just be timing the projector's images. The feeds for the projector would be separate.

Jordan,

Your enthusiasm is commendable and it's great that you can see the phenomenal potential of a physical computing platform like the Arduino: but as the old saying goes . . . you've got to walk before you can run.

A really great way to get started with the Arduino is to work your way through the free E-book, “The Complete Beginners Guide to the Arduino” by Mike McRoberts of Earth Shine Design. http://www.earthshineelectronics.com/10-arduino-duemilanove-compatible-starter-kit.html

Completing all the exercises in this publication will give you a good foundation in both the hardware and software basis and help prepare you for more advanced projects.

Alright, thanks a ton for your help! It's really appreciated.

Maybe I can get my parents to get me an Arduino for my birthday (lol).

If you have a picoprojector, why would you need to use POV? maybe I just misunderstand your idea.

Not sure how old you are, but I have always encouraged my own boys (16, 18 and 23) to have part-time jobs to buy the toys we all like to play with.