I'm confused about i2c address

Hi All I'm new to the arduino and also to i2c, but not to electronics. This is a bit of a long post for a first post, and I kinda get there in the end but am puzzled as to why and how, so please read on.

I have a slave device (a pcb containing a video switch etc) and the documentation says it has an address of 0xba or 0xbb depending on the address A0 select line.

It actually states 'if the A0 line is high (which it is) the device has an address of 0XBA/0xBB where the LSB is the R/W flag

First Question - I'm not totally sure what that means... do I need to read from one Address and Write to the other?

I have some arduino code which is trying to send a couple of basic commands to this board, these commands simply select one or another input and route it to the output, switching every five seconds .

The slave boards API uses something it calles 'alpha commands' on the i2c bus whereby the first byte of data is the 'size' of the command in bytes then follow the actually command.

OK here is my very simple sketch

#include "Wire.h"
#define I2C_ADDRESS 0xba // slave I2C address
int led = 13;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);     
  Wire.begin();
}

void sel1() // select input 1
{
 Wire.beginTransmission(I2C_ADDRESS);
 Wire.write(0x04); // message size
 Wire.write(0x00); // 
 Wire.write(0xca); // Select Input
 Wire.write(0x09); // 
 Wire.write(0x01); // HDMI 1
 Wire.endTransmission();
}

void sel2() // select input 2
{
 Wire.beginTransmission(I2C_ADDRESS);
Wire.write(0x04); // message size
 Wire.write(0x00); // 
 Wire.write(0xca); // Select Inout
 Wire.write(0x09); // 
 Wire.write(0x02); // HDMI 2
 Wire.endTransmission();
}

void loop()
{
 sel1();
 digitalWrite(led,HIGH);
 delay(10);

sel2();
 digitalWrite(led,LOW);
 delay(10);
}

The flashing LED is just so I can see something is happening. The video switch does not do anything though, even though I can see it's status is READY to accept commands.