I'm getting extra blinks at regular intervals when running simple LED programs

This is my first post here, thanks in advance for any help or advice. I’m excited to learn (and work with my teenage son in the process…). I really appreciate everyone that is willing to take time to help out a greeny.

I’ve just started learning Arduino with very minimal electronics background. I’m studying from “Arduino Projects for Dummies” and the “Sheepdogguides.com” website. I’ve tried writing several simple sketches for lighting LED’s, and also inputing a few simple LED sketches from these sources. They seem to load fine and execute correctly, but regardless of what I try, at approximately five second intervals I get quick multiple blinks from one of the LED’s. Other than that, the code runs fine. This extra blinking is always synchronized with the blinking of the LED marked “L” on the Arduino board.

This seems somehow associated with the “Blink” program that comes loaded on the Arduino but my understanding is that “Blink” should be overwritten when uploading any sketch.

I’ve tried this with several different sketches and get the same result.

Any thoughts or advice?

escobadelmar:
This seems somehow associated with the "Blink" program that comes loaded on the Arduino but my understanding is that "Blink" should be overwritten when uploading any sketch.