I'm new and have a very basic questions

Hi, please excuse me if this is not the correct forum, I was looking for a Presentation or Introductory forum but didn't find it.

I'm coming form the RC world, you know, we send 1 to 2ms pulses to our servos and electronic speed controllers.

I think it's time to try one of those Arduino interfaces between my receiver and my motors. Basically, I need to proportionally control the two DC motors of a tracked vehicle. I found a couple of good examples, code included.

Talking about the code: how do I program the interface?

Do I have to download and install the application (Windows or Linux, I can use both, which is recommended?) I am a software programmer so that shouldn't be completely new to me.

Will I plug the interface into the USB port and I'm done?

Which type, model, etc. of Arduino interface do I need to fulfill the need?

Will it be possible to replace my ESCs with Arduino interfaces if in the future I want it to proportionally control one motor (e.g. boats)?

Thanks, Robert

You can run the Arduino IDE on Windows, Linux or Mac. I use Linux and I suspect it is marginally easier than Windows (assuming you know Linux). The Arduino IDE is written in Java.

The Arduino Servo library produces the proper pulses needed to control servos and ESCs. For example myservo.write(90) should move the servo arm to 90 degrees. You can also use myservo.writeMicroseconds(1500) to do the same thing.

The Arduino can send control signals to the ESC but does not replace the ESC. An Arduino cannot handle the high currents and voltages needed by motors. An alternative to using an ESC might be one of the motor shields. But if you already have an ESC I would use that.

You can study Arduino programming using the IDE before you buy an Arduino board. The IDE has many useful example programs (sketches in Arduino speak). There is also a huge amount of online assistance.