Im new to this and stuck..... can anyone help me please. ?

hi, im new to the forum and this is my 1st post, my names Matt and im from Essex in the UK, im sure this will be one of many posts as i start my new venture into programming.

ok so after a few days of reading and copying code i decided to try and write something my self,

my 1st program was a basic led program, with a switch,
1x led
1x switch

but when i wire everything up my red led blinks, and its ment to be solid, then after 4 presses of the button it should go off.

here is my code and ive attached a photo of my wiring from the mega 2560 to the breadboard.

int ledRed1 = 2; // red LED's var name
int ledYellow1 = 3; // yellow LED's var name
int ledGreen1 = 4; // green LED's var name
int ledSwitch = 10; //  button for switching LED's
int redTimer = 1000; // set red LED's blinking time to 1000miliseconds
int buttonPushCounter = 0; // counter for the number of button presses
int buttonState = 0; // current state of the button
int lastButtonState = 0; // previous state of the button
void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
Serial.begin(9600);  // initialize serial communication
pinMode(ledRed1, OUTPUT); // initalize red led 1 as output
pinMode(ledSwitch, INPUT); // initalise button as input
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
digitalWrite(ledRed1, HIGH); // turn led on
delay(redTimer); // wait for timer to finish
digitalWrite(ledRed1, LOW); // turn led off
delay(redTimer); // wait for timer to finish

buttonState = digitalRead(ledSwitch); // read which input the button is stored on
if (buttonState != lastButtonState) { // compare the buttonState to its previous state

if (buttonState == HIGH) { // if the state has changed, increment the counter & if the current state is HIGH then the button went from off to on:
       buttonPushCounter++;
      Serial.println("on");
      Serial.print("number of button pushes:  ");
      Serial.println(buttonPushCounter);