Image processing autonomous robot hardware advice

I'm looking to start a new project and need some advice on the hardware to use as I have very little experience with hardware.

The goal of the project is to have an autonomous robot that can navigate independent of any outside help. So it would preferably do it's own processing but I'm open to ideas. The robot would use an ultra sonic range finder to detect objects as it moves around. When an object is detected in the robots path it will take a picture. The image will then be processed and the height of the object will be determined. The robot will then decide if it can go over the object or else it will go around it. That is the project end game.

Here is the robot kit I'm looking at: http://www.robotshop.com/eu/en/dfrobotshop-rover-v2---arduino-compatible-tracked-robot-autonomous-development-kit.html

I probably wouldn't use the infrared sensor in the project because as far as I am aware it only detects motion and that's not necessary for this project. Correct me if I'm wrong with this.

So the pivot arm will be free for the ultrasonic range finder and then the camera would be in a static position on the bot. When an object is detected the robot would turn to face the object so the camera can snap a picture.

After spending days searching for cameras I settled on this one: http://www.adafruit.com/products/397

It seems like it will do what I need but if someone knows a better camera. Perhaps with a lower resolution as I don't need a high resolution image for this as the picture just needs to give a rudimentary image for height determination.

So my question: Is this project viable with this hardware and how could I allow this to independently process an image. Could I add a micro processor to the robot for cheap that could handle it?

My contingency plan is to have the image send to my computer, processed and a command sent back to the robot saying what action to take.