Import MATlab data for stepper motor demand

I am fairly new to Arduino and I have created a polynomial for the motor demand in MATlab and I was wondering how I could import this data to the Arduino to control the motor. Any help would be much appreciated (:

I was wondering how I could import this data to the Arduino

Step 1: Get MatLab to send the data. I can't imagine what good a polynomial curve is going to do the Arduino though, or how the curve relates to motor demand (whatever that means).

Step 2: Explain how the Arduino is supposed to use the data that MatLab sends.

The polynomial is the plot of desired motor speed that I have just stored as an array. I using a stepper motor and I want the arduino to take the desired motor speed and tell the motor to spin at that speed.

Thanks for replying quickly!

Is the polynomial a 2D curve? What do the two axes mean? speed (rpm) and time?

Are you planning to send the coefficients of the curve to the Arduino, and have it evaluate the polynomial? Based on what?

yes speed and time. I was planning on sending the whole array for desired motor speed to the arduino and then looping through each element to send to the motor. I have no clue if this is a valid approach and if creating the polynomial in the setup part of the arduino code was a better approach I would do that.

I was planning on sending the whole array

What whole array? A polynomial is defined by coefficients. How many coefficients are there? Is it the (array of) coefficients that you are talking about?

Over what time domain is the curve defined?

the whole polynomial I have created it form its 6 coefficients in MATlab it is defined over 500 elements representing times form zero to 0.5 seconds where the value of each element is the desired motor speed.

hhornby: