In 1.6.6. cannot select port (greyed out)

I am a noob and installed Arduino 1.6.6 on my Windows 7 64bit computer. Connected my Arduino Nano but in Tools-Ports, I cannot select a port as it is greyed out. I then ran the dpinst-86.exe and get an error saying "You have to run the 64-bit version on this machine". If I am not totally wrong, the dpinst-86.exe should include the 64-bit driver or not?

In the Device Manager the Nano was not recognized or just as "USB2.0-Serial". I tried to manually install it searching for drivers in "C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\drivers" but it also failed. Then I tried to install it from the list of manufacturers but under the three Arduino manufacturers, I could not find the "Nano".

Googling did not get me a lot further as the same problem was only described for Windows 8.1.

Any ideas what I have overseen or doing wrong?

I have kind of a similar problem! I am running an HP Computer AMD 64 Bit machine, Windows 7 Pro, that has a PCI Port card for Comm Ports 3 & 4 which I use to run Ham radios and Ham Modems! When I install Arduino Version 1.6.6 to my computer with the windows installer off the Arduino Web Site Downloads it automatically sets it up to the comm port card. This is verified in the Tools in 1.6.6 software. It let's you select 3 & 4 but greys comm port at top out and no other comm ports to change to. If I manually install from CD with Windows 7 Installer and unselect the USB driver not to be installed Automatically from Windows installer and go back and try to install it manually it does the same thing when running 64 bit diver exe file in the Drivers Folder. I want to use the (2) Arduino 2560s I bought!