In need of a hand with a working prototype

Hi there,
I’m in need of some help! I’m currently studying industrial design at uni, and with one of my assessments I’m developing a working prototype. I’m not getting marked on my programming skills or how I assemble my electronics aspect but my prototype must work. Basically I’m developing a system that combines the features of a repetition counter and a stopwatch. I’ve had no prior experience with programming or Arduinos and I’ve been thoroughly thrown in the deep end not knowing anything about code or electronics (it’s not really part of my course, nor is it taught in my course, however I do need to develop a working prototype). I was hoping that maybe someone could lend me a hand and help me what I need.

What I need to be able to do is to program my Arduino mega board to have two functions once the device is turned on through a switch. One that acts as a counter in intervals of 01 up to 99 on 2 1 digit 7 segment displays. And the other a minute:second (00:00) timer on a 4 digit 7 segment display.
Basically I designed my idea to have two buttons to switch between the two modes (so when one mode is on the other is off). Once the mode is selected, there is a central button that either starts the timer or counts up 01 when pressed. Both modes use the same central button. When the button is pressed again it either stops the timer or adds to the count (so it would show 02 now). The two buttons for mode selection would also act as reset buttons when pressed. I’ve drawn a diagram that I think sort of explains it a bit better.