In Planning Stages

Excuse me Please:

I am quite new at using Arduino, to the point I am about to make purchase of a couple of starter kits; I would like guidance on which kit would serve me best in the following project I would like to accomplish.

for use in a plushy, e.g. a dog, I would want a light sensor to actually activate the Arduino, have the board activate two LED "eyes" {and if possible, fade out and quickly fade back in to simulate blinking} and have a sound file (or files) played through a tiny speaker. additionally, I would think as options, to have the "fingers" or "toes" to have momentary contact switches to change which sound file is played. I would expect the sound file to be looped until the light sensor is removed of light.

which kit off of this site, or amazon, or where ever, would allow me to competently learn Arduino, and be able to work towards completing the above project?

I realize I am ignorant of much in this environment, so since I do not know what I do not know, please advise me on anything else I would need for the above project to be fully comprehended and successfully completed. I have thorough experience in basic electronics, soldering, etc. I have made kits before, e.g. Ethernet cable tested with LEDs for each lead.

Thank you kindly for your time in replying. CAH

This kit would have enough parts to get you started in your learning process:

http://www.amazon.com/Sunfounder-Project-Starter-Arduino-Mega2560/dp/B00D9M4BQU

That kit does not include an Arduino, though - for that, go for an official one first:

http://store-usa.arduino.cc/products/a000066

...and not a clone. It isn't that clones are unreliable or such, but until you understand what a clone is, and what it isn't - you might find yourself buying counterfeits (those are clones which purport to be a real Arduino - and use trademarked symbols and graphics - but aren't real Arduinos). Also - by purchasing a real Arduino, you'll help to support this site, too.