#Include <x.h> for MPL3115A2 pressure sensor?

Hi. I am very new to arduino and I have to jump into the thick of it for a project requiring the mpl3115a2 barometric sensor. I have followed the direct instructions on the tutorial in this link:

https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/mpl3115a2-pressure-sensor-hookup-guide/all.pdf.

Everything is hooked up correctly, but when I go to the provided library and run the basic SparkfunMPL3115A2 file, I get this very odd result on the serial monitor.

“ôVV´£Ò–SC0ËIR©BYô´#B—´#“ð]!Á÷´#B“RFGARVFC—´#B“Q”

So I tried different codes from the internet, such as this basic one that should print pressure and altitude directly.

https://codebender.cc/example/MPL3115A2/Pressure#Pressure.ino

*/

#include <Wire.h>
#include "MPL3115A2.h"

//Create an instance of the object
MPL3115A2 myPressure;

void setup()
{
  Wire.begin();        // Join i2c bus
  Serial.begin(9600);  // Start serial for output

myPressure.begin(); // Get sensor online

// Configure the sensor
  //myPressure.setModeAltimeter(); // Measure altitude above sea level in meters
  myPressure.setModeBarometer(); // Measure pressure in Pascals from 20 to 110 kPa

myPressure.setOversampleRate(7); // Set Oversample to the recommended 128
  myPressure.enableEventFlags(); // Enable all three pressure and temp event flags 
}

void loop()
{
  /*float altitude = myPressure.readAltitude();
  Serial.print("Altitude(m):");
  Serial.print(altitude, 2);

altitude = myPressure.readAltitudeFt();
  Serial.print(" Altitude(ft):");
  Serial.print(altitude, 2);*/

float pressure = myPressure.readPressure();
  Serial.print("Pressure(Pa):");
  Serial.print(pressure, 2);

//float temperature = myPressure.readTemp();
  //Serial.print(" Temp(c):");
  //Serial.print(temperature, 2);

float temperature = myPressure.readTempF();
  Serial.print(" Temp(f):");
  Serial.print(temperature, 2);

Serial.println();
}