Incorrect value returned by analogRead() (D1 mini)

Hello!

First of all i’m just a software developer, hardly know anything about electronics.

In my first Arduino project i use a D1 mini (V3.1.0) to read some analog value, do some logic, and report the result to my MQTT broker. The external device connected to A0 pin of the D1 mini puts 24V(+/-50%) DC to it’s output or 0V according to it’s state. I use 220kOhm and 20kOhm resistors for voltage devider to stay in the supported range of A0 pin. I call analogRead(A0) quite often (20 times a second). If analogRead() returns more than 320 i consider it as a high input, otherwise a low value.

If i power the D1 mini via its USB port everything works as i expect. The analogRead() returns either with value from the 0-10 range or from the 700-900 range. The logic i have implemented works according to my needs.

However if i power the D1 mini via its +3.3V pin (connected to the output of a HLK-PM03) the analogRead() starts to return interesting values. Whenever it’s expected to report from the 0-10 range it returns randomly from the 0-600 range, and even worse sometimes from the 0-800 range also. Which makes the implemented logic to fail.

Does anyone know and can explain to me what is the reason behind this behaviour?
The issue can be solved if i replace the HLK-PM03 with a HLK-PM01 and powering the D1 mini via its +5V pin?

Thanks in advance!

Br,
Zoli

The reference voltage is tied to Vcc in, unless you change to using an internal reference. If you supply 5.0V and read the A:D you get one value, if you put 4.9 volts in the A:D will give different values.

Try using the internal reference.

Thanks for your reply. My problem is the fluctuation of the output value of the analogRead() function when there is 0V on A0. This can not be observed when the D1 mini is powered via USB. How to change the reference of the A:D?