Increase solenoid pull force

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here so please forgive me if I miss something. I am kind of new to the Arduino world and I am trying to troubleshoot this project I am working on.

Circuit: https://www.circuito.io/app?components=1331,9442,11021,842876There are some minor changes: I am not using the mosfet suggested in that website but I am using NTE Electronics Power Mosfet N-channel - Micro Center. Velleman Capacitive Touch Sensor Switch - Micro Center is the touch sensor I am using and Lock-style Solenoid - 12VDC : ID 1512 : $14.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits is the lock-solenoid I am using.

Code: Touch sensor - Google Docs am decent in basic C programming so this wasn’t difficult. Just took a while to refresh my memory. Before I get asked why I am using a FSR code for a touch sensor, TBH I am not sure either. I had issues trying to get the touch sensor to work behind a 2-3mm plastic but using FSR code and a touch sensor I am able to get it to work as I intend.

Current situation: Well as per the above code and just the circuit an its components themselves, this works perfect. I touch the sensor and the solenoid retracts and I take off my hand and the solenoid retracts.

Problem: In my application, there is a force (less than 50N) acting down on the flat side of the wedge. Something like this. Because of this force, the solenoid is unable to retract when I touch the sensor. When I remove this force, it works perfectly as stated above. My question is: Is there a way to increase the pulling force of the solenoid like, for example, passing more current? I would like to avoid buying a bigger solenoid due to space constraint.

If you need more info, please let me know and I will update the original post.

TL;DR: How to increase pulling force of a solenoid? Maybe pass more current?

Yes, more current.

Power the solenoid from a separate 12v supply capable of at least 1 amp.

cattledog: