Incrementing array steps

Hello,

I am very new to Arduino, and I have a general question. If I have a square wave generator like this:

{ 
     // Squarewave gen 
     digitalWrite(A5, HIGH); 
     delay(val2); 
     digitalWrite(A5, LOW);
     delay(val2);
}

(where val2 is coming from a potentiometer), how would I get "digitalWrite(A5, HIGH); " to increment through steps this array?:

int seqArray[] = {0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9};

Obviously, I’d have to incorporate state change code in there, which I believe I know how to do. I just have not been able to figure out how to get the array to increment when A5 goes high.

Thank you in advance!

digitalWrite(A5, HIGH);can't increment, but a variable could. Initialise the variable to 0, then every time you execute the digitalWrite(); increment the variable.

What is it that you want to increment? You talk about incrementing an array, but an array doesn't increment. Neither does the output of digitalWrite. The output is either HIGH or LOW. Nothing in-between, and nothing higher than HIGH, and nothing lower than LOW.. You already told us that the delay value comes from a potentiometer, so what is left? I am confused, please explain.

to change the delays (i.e. increment them through your Array) I like these two ways.

untested

int j;
int seqArray[10] = {0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9};

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  for (int i = 0; i < 10 ; i++)// do it all at once
  { 
    digitalWrite(A5, HIGH); 
    delay(seqArray[i]); 
    digitalWrite(A5, LOW);
    delay(seqArray[i]);
    Serial.println(i);
  }
}
void loop()
{
  Serial.println(j);
  digitalWrite(A5, HIGH); // do it over and over, your square wave frequency dropping as you progress through the array.
  delay(seqArray[j]); 
  digitalWrite(A5, LOW);
  delay(seqArray[j]);
  j++;
  if (j > 9) j = 0;
}