Indicator for Simulation Game

Hello dear Community,

i am really new to all this stuff. Thats why i would need some help for my project.
I got a real Truck Indicator switch and i want to make it work as a Controller for my PC.

I got an Arduino Leonardo but now i am quite stuck cause i imagined it to be easier.

Could somebody give me some advice if it is possible to make the real switch working like a controller?

I want it to be recognized by the PC like a keyboard/Controller. From the real switch are 7 Cables comming out of it. Can somebody maybe help me out?

I´ve added some pictures for explanation.

Thank you !

You need to find a schematic showing how those 7 wires are connected inside the indicator switch.

What do you want to control on the pc? A game? If so, you will need to find out what is needed to make the game respond to the Leonardo in the way you want.

Hello PaulRB,

thank you for your quick reply!
I´ve just done some research last night and it is verry hard to find something on the internet.

Is there also a possibility to just connect the Cables to the arduino and then use the switch to see some response on the PC?

I mean if i would connect the Cables and then press the light oder the Blinker button?

Thank you for your help!

Friendly Regards

No, nothing would happen. Electronics is not magic. To make anything work you have to understand what you are doing and exactly how each component works.

I suggest you use a multimeter or a continuity tester. Try each pair of conductors in the connector in turn. For each pair, try all the different functions of the indicator switch. Make careful notes of your findings. Draw a diagram of how you believe things must be connected inside the indicator switch.

Hello PaulRB,

thank you again for your reply.
I have an multimeter but i dont really know how to use it.