Individual LED brightness control

Hello All

I am attempting to create a lighting control system prototype using an Arduino Uno, LEDs, and photoresistors. My team and I have encountered problems in regards to INDIVIDUALLY selecting and controlling the brightness of an LED in an array with more LED outputs than the Arduino board holds. Will a demux work for my application? For example will I be able to program and wire it in such a way that will allow me to select one LED out of a group and individually control its brightness (with preferably 5+ steps of brightness)?

Questions for more specifics are welcome. I am a mechanical engineer on a team with an electrical and computer engineer, who although not available now, will be able to provide more details if necessary to answer the question.

Thank You

Willy S

There are several ways to do it.

One way is to get leds that are individually addressable. Then you use software to turn control each led, setting the red, green, and blue colors to the power level. One common system is the WS2812, that has 3 wires (power, ground, data). Each light is hooked up as a chain, and then you send a series of pulses out to control each light. One such example of this is the Adafruit neopixels system: Search Results for 'neopixel' on Adafruit Industries. You can set each neopixel pixel to 0..255 for each of red, green, and blue colors.