Infineon BTS 6143 current sensing and a question about interferences

Hi everyone,

these may seem like beginner questions, but please bear with me because I am a true beginner.

I am trying to use this component with Arduino Mega:

Am I correct in assuming that the sense pin on this component should be connected to an analog pin on Arduino?

Another question that is bothering me as well: Arduino Mega will control the power for several devices using these components above. The devices are Intel NUC PC, several PWM heaters (low number of Hz, nothing high frequency), CCD camera, a separate device with stepper motors. All that draws power from one PCB with common GND. I want to avoid possible interferances and put some capacitors and resistors at the output. I may or may not actually use them, depending of whether the interferances are present or not (CCD camera is the most important in this case).

What values should I use? There are eight outputs that should not exceed 5 A at 12 V under normal conditions. I would use a switching power supply.

Thank you so much for your valuable input,

Miloš

To start with you chose a great part. The sense pin is a current mirror that outputs a current in relation to the current that is being drawn by your load. You do not need to connect the sense pin. Caution since it is a current source its output it can almost reach Vbb which is the supply voltage for your load. You can start with a resistor in the 1K range connected to the sense pin and ground to determine where it is going to go. Then I would suggest if you connect it to an analog pin you put a 10K or larger resistor between the Sense pin and the analog input with the 1K or whatever resistor also connected to the sense pin and ground. This will help protect the arduino against any transients.
Good Luck & Have Fun!

Thank you so much for the advice, I’ll test that!

gilshultz: