Info on programming servos

I am relatively new to arduino, but I can’t find anyone doing what I would like to do and I’m looking for someone to point me in the right direction.

I’d like to make a robotic arm (tentacle precisely) that I can program the servos with an rc transmitter. I would like to record 30 seconds of input from the controller then have the arduino repeat the movements indefinitely. I would also like to have the program stored so that it would start the program if unplugged and plugged in again.

Has anyone done anything close to this?

How many servos will there be ?
Will they all move at the same time ?
How many movements will there be in 30 seconds ?

Arduinos as standard store their program and will restart when power is plugged back in so that part is not a problem. Reading data from an RC receiver and controlling servos is something that many people have done before. Just Google "rc control arduino" for plenty of examples.

The rest is possible but it's going to depend on things like how many servos, how many commands do you need to capture for each servo in your 30 seconds etc. Also is this a one-off programming or if not how often will you want to reprogram the 30 seconds? Most Arduinos don't have much space to store loads of information so those answers may determine which one you need to use and what techniques you need to capture and replay the data.

Steve

It sounds to me like you need to store the sequence of moves on a SD card. This makes it easy to sequentially read a set of positions and then command the servos to move to those positions.

Others have asked how many servos and that is a relevant piece of information.
I would also ask how many channels from your RC receive? One channel per servo?

What kind of RC receiver? Connecting one pin to each channel means a lot of work watching interrupts. A modern receiver that supports any of the one pin protocols (PPM) makes it much easier to read all the channels.