Infrared communication between 2 arduinos

Hi guys, I am new to arduino and I want some help. I have 2 arduinos and i want to send from the first arduino, the input of the serial monitor, to the second arduino, using ir leds, and see the message in the serial monitor of the receiver.

I use something like that in the transmmiter:

void setup() { Serial.begin(9600); Serial.println("Enter a word or a phrase:"); }

void loop() { if (Serial.available() > 0) { serialinput = Serial.read(); } /*then i want here to use an irsend to put the serialinput and send it, via ir to the other arduino and see it in the serial monitor of the receiver. */ // something like this: irsend.sendSony(serialinput, 20) }

So, can you tell me if this would work and which irsend should i use, because i dont know the difference between them? (for example there is a sendSony, sendNEC, send RC5 and many other). Or if I can learn their differences from somewhere, because i cant find them.

10 seconds with Google found me this http://www.righto.com/2009/08/multi-protocol-infrared-remote-library.html and over 100,000 other hits

which irsend should i use,

It does not matter as long as your receiving program matches.

sotis7: Hi guys, I am new to arduino and I want some help. I have 2 arduinos and i want to send from the first arduino, the input of the serial monitor, to the second arduino, using ir leds, and see the message in the serial monitor of the receiver.

I use something like that in the transmmiter:

So, can you tell me if this would work and which irsend should i use, because i dont know the difference between them? (for example there is a sendSony, sendNEC, send RC5 and many other). Or if I can learn their differences from somewhere, because i cant find them.