Infrared Communication between Receiving and Transmitting sensors

Hi, I’m new to Arduino so bare with me please.

So my group is making a project where we are making an automated guided vehicle and it is supposed to navigate with infrared sensors. My job is to establish infrared communication with the IR emitters and receivers. The way I would like to accomplish this is by having a transmitter send a specific signal, a hexadecimal value, that will be read by the receiver. My project advisor has said for the transmitter to be able to send this signal like a pulse. For example if I want to send the value 0xFFFFFF, the signal should be on for like 1 second and off for 1 second.

The problem I’m having is that I’m unable to send a IR signal from my transmitter that can be read by my receiver. The transmitter I’m using is the TFSH6210-1766998, the microcontroller is the Teensy 3.6 and I’m using the Arduino Uno IDE.

I’ve tried using the code below to try and get a signal to send from the transmitter but I’ve found out that the code uses pin 3 for the IRsend function and I’ve read it’s hard coded into one of the libraries, I’m unsure of which one. The Teensy 3.6 uses pin 5 for the IRsend function. I’ve knocking my brain on this for a while and I feel like this shouldn’t be this hard of a problem for me to solve but unfortunately it’s proved to be the hardest part of the project so far lol.

#include <IRremote.h>

IRsend irsend;

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
  if (Serial.read() != -1) {
    for (int i=0; i<5; i++) {
      irsend.sendNEC(0x00ff01fe, 32); // I want the transmitter to send this signal to be read by the receiver
      delay(50);
    }
  }
}

I’ve also tried using this code but it also didn’t work

#include <IRremote.h>
IRsend irsend;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(5,OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
    irsend.sendSony(0x68B92, 20);