Input pin powering Arduino!

Hi,

I have a project with an RTC board which has A6 connected to monitor the backup battery voltage (CR2032) when the system is active. When I remove power from the project the Arduino draws power though the A6 pin and illuminates the onboard LEDs although not very brightly. This was not a behaviour I was expecting and quickly drains the battery, can anybody shed any light on my issue as I'm a Arduino noob but with 30+ years of electronics experience.

Thanks, Graham.

Sure, it's powering the circuit through the input protection diode on the pin.

Hmmm, well that's bad news. Any suggestions on how to overcome the problem?

Use a resistor between +battery and analogue pin.
The resistor can be any value between 0 and 10Megohm.
If the value is >10kohm, you have to add a 100n capacitor from A-in to ground.

Try a 1Megohm resistor and a 100n cap.
That will still drain the battery, but it might take months to do so.
Leo..

10K is a reasonable minimum value. Lower than that, you risk damaging the Arduino. Some people use 47K.

jremington:
10K is a reasonable minimum value. Lower than that, you risk damaging the Arduino. Some people use 47K.

Depends on the offending voltage.
In this case a 3volt backup battery.
If you calculate 1mA as being safe, then ~2.5k is the minimum resistor value (battery + diode drop).
Leo..

ght on my issue as I'm a Arduino noob but with 30+ years of electronics experience.

Amazed that you have never encountered parasitic powering before. In electronics you should never connect a signal into an unpowered chip. This can cause latch up and damage the chip. Resistors are only a sticking plaster, simply do not do this.

Grumpy_Mike:
Amazed that you have never encountered parasitic powering before

I didn't say I was a design engineer did I? :slight_smile:

Thanks to everybody for the info and advice given. It looks like using a mosfet to switch it may be one option if the resistor is not a viable solution.

Graham.