Input Receive High Even Not Triggered

Hi,

I am new in arduino. Currently, my arduino are triggered when receive a signal from PLC relay. But sometimes, it also receive a signal even the PLC relay didn't triggered.

It keep sent serial with value '3' even not triggered. How I can avoid this by program?
Please guide and support me.

void setup()
{
    pinMode(12, OUTPUT); 
    digitalWrite(12, HIGH); 
    pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
    digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
    pinMode(8, INPUT_PULLUP);
    Serial.begin(9600);
    while (!Serial);

}

void loop() 
{
    if (digitalRead(8) == LOW) {
        Serial.println("3");
        delay(1000);
    }

if (Serial.available())
    {
        int state = Serial.parseInt();
        if (state == 1)
        {
            digitalWrite(12, LOW);
            delay(100);
            digitalWrite(12, HIGH);
        }
        if (state == 2)
        {
            digitalWrite(13, LOW);
            delay(100);
            digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
        }
    } 
}

I just tried it with a switch to ground in pin 8 and it works ok for me.

Of course if I hold the switch closed it repeats the "3" every second so are you 100% sure that the PLC is reverting to a high? Have you verified that the input to pin 8 is changing, say with a volt meter or a logic probe?

elvon_blunden:
I just tried it with a switch to ground in pin 8 and it works ok for me.

Of course if I hold the switch closed it repeats the "3" every second so are you 100% sure that the PLC is reverting to a high? Have you verified that the input to pin 8 is changing, say with a volt meter or a logic probe?

Yes im sure it reverting to a high sometimes. Nothing abnormal with the volt.

If I try with the switch, it is same result as yours. But it happen when connect it with PLC relay.

SafwanR:
Yes im sure it reverting to a high sometimes**.**
[/quote]
Not always, then?

elvon_blunden:
Not always, then?