Input to LEDs

Hi all,
I’m new here and I’m sorry if this topic has already been covered but I couldnt find anything in the search function.
I’m not a programmer so please be gentle… :slight_smile:

I’m looking at using arduino to control my project which is to re-create Shakespearean candle light using LEDs. I work in a theatre which uses a DMX cable to control lighting which is 8 bit and goes from 0-255. However, this is not enough as I need to colour mix red green and blue and if I add one more unit of, say green, the colour then becomes too green so i need smaller steps - hopefully 10 bits per colour. It doesn’t really matter what method I use to control the LEDs (i.e. USB etc) as I will be making these up to fit inside a chandelier I made earlier this year. So, I can adapt my design around the software if necessary.
I want to know if the Arduino PWM control is capable of this? I can’t seem to find the answer anywhere online.

Thanks in advance.
deranged-angel.

Look at Candle LED with Simulated Flicker, Fighting with computers, BlinkM-Smart LED.

Juan C.

I’d be inclined to go with the BlinkM, although I’m not certain just what it would take to get the flicker right. The technique I’ve seen for doing the flicker involves using a cap to smooth things out.

You can also “roll your own” PWM for higher intensity resolution and use digital pins. The tricky bit is working in new values for R,G,B over the wire. Here’s an example, but if you go much over 2048 in the loop count you will probably start getting flicker:

#define rpin 2
#define gpin 3
#define bpin 4

void setup(){
  pinMode(rpin,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(gpin,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(bpin,OUTPUT);
}

//make up some rgb values, range is 0 to 2047
  unsigned volatile int r=30;
  unsigned volatile int g=1024;
  unsigned volatile int b=899;

void loop(){
  for(int x = 0; x<2048; x++){
    digitalWrite(rpin,x<=r?HIGH:LOW);
    digitalWrite(gpin,x<=g?HIGH:LOW);
    digitalWrite(bpin,x<=b?HIGH:LOW);
  }
}