Installing Problems

I am a newbie to Arduino and I have been trying to troubleshoot the installation.

1) I can't get the software to install in "My Programs". I can open the audriuno file and then click on the arduino icon and then the IDE will open.

2) I can type in the "Blink" sketch. It compiles and verifies ok. And I get the "done compiling" message.I get 2 error messages:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync:resp=0x30 avrdude:stk500_disable():protocal error,expect+0x14, resp = 0x51 I've checked under "tools" it shows COM 3 with a checkmark. I've read and reread troubleshooting and have gone through it several times.

3) I'm running Windows 7, 64 bit. The arduino does not show up in "Device manger". I've tried the help/support venue. The procedure does not work!!

I can't find a way to assign COM ports. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Any arduino users anywhere near Ocala, Fl.?

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync:resp=0x30
avrdude:stk500_disable():protocal error,expect+0x14, resp = 0x51

That is a “famous” error message. I just received this particular messsage today - I was installing a FDTI Basic board and Arduino Mini USB Adapter to an breadboard version of an Arduino. My solution was use a cap in serie with the DTR and Arduino Reset pin ( both serial board ) , set the Port setting / Advanced by checking “Set RTS on off”, connect RX to RX Arduino, TX to TX Arduino - mini USB Adapter, connect RX to TX Arduino, TX to RX Arduino - FDTI Basic board , In the IDE , select the proper port number and select Board Ardiuno Pro, and the upload is working just fine. I don’t know what the jumper pin on the mini USB Adapter is. ( I use the latest model - the one with the extra pinouts. The schematic is for the older version.

As for your problem…