Insulating a three-way joint

This is probably a pretty stupid question, but please bear with me, I'm pretty new at this stuff.

If I have a joint between (for example) a single wire and a single component lead, its easy enough to slip a piece of heat-shrink tubing over the joint to provide insulation. However, what does one do in the case of a three-way joint? I'm certainly not an expert in topology, but as far as I can tell its physically impossible to fit a tube (with two openings, one on each end) over a T-joint (with three wires coming out of it).

Using electrical tape of the sort one uses on house wiring doesn't seem very practical; it tends to be pretty bulky for the tight spaces typically found in electronic circuits, and also leaks adhesive and gets everything sticky over time.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Rob Rothman

One of these.

3-way (11.6 KB)

Or you could use these:
http://www.dtl-connectors.co.uk/store/cable-accessories/heat-shrink-boots-transitions/heat-shrink-transitions.html

I generally make something more like a "Y" instead of a "T" and just use one piece of heatshrink. (If it's components instead of wires, I'll also insulate the individual leads with heatshrink first, or if its' something like a resistor I might put a piece of clear heatshrink over the entire part.)

LarryD:
Or you could use these:
http://www.dtl-connectors.co.uk/store/cable-accessories/heat-shrink-boots-transitions/heat-shrink-transitions.html

VERY "cheap" and VERY "small"
:wink:
Pelle

Pelleplutt:

LarryD:
Or you could use these.

VERY "cheap" and VERY "small"

I know where I have seen those!

Up on a power pole, where the underground cable splits out to connect to the 33kV lines.