Integration of Arduino with my alarm system board

Hi,
this is my first post here and my presentation. First of all, I apologize in advance for my bad English. I read other posts on this issue but I didn’t found what I need.

I am an experienced software programmer and I worked a lot on software-hardware interaction (developing device's drivers). Now I would like to have a deeper knowledge on electronics. So, an Arduino Uno board is coming :smiley:

After a learning period I would like to deal with a real and useful project. In my house I have a working anti-theft alarm system and I would to integrate it with some functionalities (i.e. monitoring inputs, arm/disarm the alarm system remotely, etc.) using the Arduino board.

This is the main terminal board of my alarm system controller:

• SMU: alarm system status. +12V = ARMED, 0V = DISARMED. Currently not used.

• IRK: a 1 second impulse to this pin arms the controller, another impulse disarms the controller. Currently not used.

• CH1 - CH8 and GNDs: wired sensors +5V inputs:

• CH1: magnetic contact switch (a passive door sensor)

• CH2: magnetic contact switch (a passive door sensor)

• CH3: signal from a powered PIR

• CH4: signal from a powered PIR

• CH5: magnetic contact switch (a passive door sensor)

• CH6: magnetic contact switch (a passive door sensor)

• CH7: signal from a powered PIR

• CH8: signal from the tamper of the outdoor siren

• RES: reserved

• AUX: auxiliary power line 12V. Used by the outdoor siren and by the PIRs

• JA: 1st alarm event output. Siren is connected here to COM and NO

• JB: 2nd alarm event output. Currently not used.

These are my Arduino system requirements:

• Read CH1-CH8 status
  • Read SMU status
  • Send a 1 sec impulse to IRK
  • Read the back-up battery charge status (a NI-MH - 12V - 600mAh, connected to a 2-pin header on the controller board). This is a very important requirement.