Inter-Arduino Serial Comms

I'm not a beginner with Arduino, but I'm about to pull my hair out over a seemingly simple problem:

I'm just trying to transfer one byte from one Arduino (Mega) to another Arduino (Mega as well) using a serial port.

Here is the TX code:

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial1.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("MASTER");
}

void loop()
{
  Serial1.write(100);
}

And here is the RX code:

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial1.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("SLAVE");
}

void loop()
{
  byte trash;

while(Serial1.available())
  {
    trash = Serial1.read();
    Serial.println(trash);
  }
}

As for wiring: I have a common ground between the Arduinos and have the TX from Serial1 on the master connected to the RX of Serial1 on the slave.

The problem is that I am not getting a correct transfer of data. The receiver prints the number 22 instead of 100.

This is such a simple little project and there isn't much that can go wrong. Any ideas?

So, I changed the TX code to:

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial1.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  Serial1.write(100);
  Serial1.write(101);
}

And it worked. I then changed the TX code back to :

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial1.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  Serial1.write(100);
}

And it continued to work. Not sure why it didn't work in the first place.

Try putting a delay() function call in the send loop.

aarg:
Try putting a delay() function call in the send loop.

Yup, looks like that did the trick, too. I guess without it there's input serial buffer overflow? But if there's buffer overflow, it still shouldn't give me wrong values. Still kind of confusing.

Ok, so now that I got a reliable transfer of a byte, I'm having trouble incorporating that into a larger project.

TX and RX code attached (too large to embed).

TX - DCU_2.01_-Relink_Protection
RX - SD_INTERFACE
-_Relink_Protection