Interactive Art display using an mobile phone App

Hello all,

This is my first time posting here and I have never used an Arduino... I'm looking for a bit of direction from the Forum.

My project involves pouring paint onto a canvas using some type of mechanic regulation to control the amount of pours. I haven't decided exactly on how I want to trigger the apparatus I'm making to do the pour, but I want it to be interactive with a person using it... First idea, it would be great if I could make an app for a mobile phone that would send triggers to the apparatus to pour the paint, either via wifi or bluetooth. Is this possible, which arduino would I need and where would I begin to learn how to get started?... Second idea for the interactive portion is using something along the lines of an Xbox Kinect and have some sort of motion that is sensed trigger the pours back to the apparatus. Again, is this possible, which arduino would I need and where would I begin to learn how to get started?

I really appreciate any and all help!

Thanks,
Jason

You can use either WI-FI (ie: ESP8266 module)
or
Bluetooh: (ie: HC-05/06 modules)

What Arduino you need depends on what you want to do with it. ('pouring paint doesnt cut it')

HOW do you plan on 'pouring' this paint?

Is it a pump/nozzle?
Is it a 'real' bucket' that need to be moved by a servo or stepper motor?

How many 'buckets' are there? 1 for each color?

I think at this point.. your putting the cart before the horse.

Plan out your 'intended' process...
*how it works for the end user(s)
*how the physical/mechanical set-up looks in your mind.

I mean if I want to make a bluetooth based project.. where I hit a button on my phone, and it moves a servos that 'opens' the bottom of some bucket...

that should be fairly easy to do.

If you have pumps, or a more colors...etc..etc things get more difficult and should be sorted out FIRST.. so you plan & code accordingly.