Interested in Arduino

Hi

I heard about Arduino recently and it seemed very interesting, so I went on Google and searched for obvious things (i.e. “What is Arduino?”). To get to the point, I will just put my questions into bullets:

• Do I need to know C or C++, or any other coding to use Arduino?

• The only code I know is Linux command-line (well some) &
    even less Windows command line (I think the name is DOS?)

• Are there any good places (links preferably) that you would recommend for an absolute beginner?

• What are some good projects for someone who is new?

Pleases expect more questions, as I am getting quite interested in it :smiley:

Thanks

-Happyman7

P.S. To be specific, I first heard of Arduino from lifehacker(.com)/5660412
(1st post, couldn’t have link)

Do I need to know C or C++, or any other coding to use Arduino?

Well, it certainly helps if you have at least some knowledge of programming, but I would say you could learn as you go, too. A lot of people here have, most certainly!

Are there any good places (links preferably) that you would recommend for an absolute beginner?

This site (arduino.cc and this forum), of course. Adafruit has some good tutorials. You’ll also want to check out the Earthshine Electronics store (UK) - they have an excellent free beginners book (its a companion to a kit they sell for beginners, but it is great in its own right). Grumpy Mike’s site has good information on it (http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Hardware/Projects.html).

What are some good projects for someone who is new?