Interfacing 2x16 Netmedia LCD possible easily???

Hello,

Sorry for that but I'm really new to Arduino.

I'm trying to link a 2x16 Netmedia LCD screen to Arduino. Here is the link if you want to see what kind of LCD screen it is : http://www.robotshop.us/netmedia-2x16-rohs-lcd-blue.html

On the back, I have 5 pins : LED+, Rx, Rx*, 5V, GND

Here is the datasheet : http://www.robotshop.us/PDF/netmedia-rohs-serial-lcd-module-v1.pdf

Do you have an idea on what kind of code I can use with it?

Looks easy to hook up. there are a couple of drawings and the characters you need to send starts on page 5. send serial just like you would to a terminal or debug screen and see what you get (after sending the setup codes mentioned. Have fun.

Hello,

I tried to follow a way through SLCD - Serial LCD library (http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/SLCD) and I tried to upload this code to the board :

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  backlightOn();
}

void loop()
{  
  selectLineOne();
  delay(100);
  Serial.print(millis());
  selectLineTwo();
  delay(100);
  Serial.print(millis()/2);
  delay(100);
}

void selectLineOne(){  //puts the cursor at line 0 char 0.
   Serial.print(0xFE, BYTE);   //command flag
   Serial.print(128, BYTE);    //position
}
void selectLineTwo(){  //puts the cursor at line 0 char 0.
   Serial.print(192, BYTE);    //position
}
void goTo(int position) { //position = line 1: 0-15, line 2: 16-31, 31+ defaults back to 0
if (position<16){ Serial.print(0xFE, BYTE);   //command flag
              Serial.print((pos+128), BYTE);    //position
}else if (position<32){Serial.print(0xFE, BYTE);   //command flag
              Serial.print((pos+48+128), BYTE);    //position 
} else { goTo(0); }

void clearLCD(){
   Serial.print(0x01, BYTE);   //clear command.
}
void backlightOn(){  //turns on the backlight
    Serial.print(0x7C, BYTE);   //command flag for backlight stuff
    Serial.print(157, BYTE);    //light level.
}
void backlightOff(){  //turns off the backlight