interfacing a 3 pin temperature sensor (HELP!!)

hi I tried wiring up a temperature sensor I found on sparkfun but it doesn't seem to be working. http://pdfserv.maxim-ic.com/en/ds/DS1820-DS1820S.pdf those are the data sheets I keep seeing that on the drawings ground keeps changing place and so does input :|

Im a newbie to hardware... please help with both wiring and code. My current code goes as follows:

int inPin = 11;   // choose the input pin 
int val = 0;     // variable for reading the pin status

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(inPin, INPUT);    
}

void loop(){

val = digitalRead(inPin);  // read input value
  if (val) {         // check if the input is HIGH 
  Serial.println(val);
  } 
}

and my wiring connects the first pin to ground the middle pin to port 11 in arduiino which in my code I specified as input pin and my 3rd pin is connect to the 5 V power supply

Thanks in advance

Hi

according to the data sheet, the Dallas chip you got puts out data serially: "The DS18S20 communicates over a 1-wire bus that by definition requires only one data line (and ground) for communication with a central microprocessor. "

In the code above you've started the serial port but aren't reading it. The val = digitalRead(inPin) does a straight 0/5V reading of pin 11, not a serial read. Serial reads, in any case, are generally made on the RX (Pin 0).