Interfacing a USB GPS Receiver (Serial Chipset) with Arduino Duemilanove

Hi,

I am new to what seems to be a wonderful world of Arduino but am fairly clued up with concepts of electronics and am quite a relatively advanced programmer; using languages such as PHP, C# (including threaded programs, sockets, SQL DB interfacing etc.) + interfacing PHP with MySQL so hopefully the programming side of things hopefully shouldn't bother me too much and I have done soldering projects in the past.

Enough about me...now onto my question:

I have brought myself an Arduino Duemilanove and have a whole manner of projects I'm looking forward to trying out on it. Some of my projects would be amazing with GPS capabilities.

As I am quite new to all this I don't really want to spend a small fortune on GPS shield and assocaited module which could turn out to be no good therefore am wondering......I have found a USB GPS Reciever for a really good price and am wondering if I can interface it with my arduino board?

I believe from the specifications I have been reading as much as the unit has a USB connection to a PC that this is actually a chip with serial output going through a serial to usb converter as the PC recognises it as a COM port. Therefore it would be brilliant if I could strip the unit apart and solder wires directly onto the GPS chip itself and interface it with the Arduino. A link for the USB GPS Dongle is: http://www.globalsat.co.uk/product_pages/gsat_products_cable_ND100S.htm

Hope this makes sense, Would love to hear from anyone with their opinions/thoughts on this.

Kind Regards, Richard

I'm using this one: http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1249

It's quite a bit cheaper and connects very easily to my Arduino: rx to tx, tx to rx, ground to ground and V+ to 3.2V.

Hi,