Interfacing Arduino with other Programs

Is there any way to have an Arduino link up with an already completed program that I did not create (I don't know if that's the correct term I am still new to programming). For example I have a multi-meter by BK precision that allows me to control it by hooking it up to to my computer. There is a program offered by BK precision that allows me to read and log the multi-meter capacitance measurements. What I want to happen is when I press the button on the BK precision program to start reading/logging measurements I also want the Arduino to switch on because I will be hooking the Arduino up to a multiplexer allowing it to access different positions of a connector by cycling through them automatically.

Please do not cross-post. Threads merged.

ddragon1999:
Is there any way to have an Arduino link up with an already completed program that I did not create (I don't know if that's the correct term I am still new to programming). For example I have a multi-meter by BK precision that allows me to control it by hooking it up to to my computer. There is a program offered by BK precision that allows me to read and log the multi-meter capacitance measurements. What I want to happen is when I press the button on the BK precision program to start reading/logging measurements I also want the Arduino to switch on because I will be hooking the Arduino up to a multiplexer allowing it to access different positions of a connector by cycling through them automatically.

That's going to be really hard to do without access to the source code for that application. Maybe you can sniff out the signal it sends to the multimeter.

https://bkprecision.desk.com/customer/portal/articles/1535377-communication-protocol-for-732a-and-735-sound-meter