Interfacing both RF transmitter and receiver(433MHz) to a single arduino

Hi,

This may is a very dumb question and I am very new to the arduino world with little electronics as only a hobby. The most complicated thing i have tried in arduino may is the simple LCD thing(getting to display HELLO) (16X1 HD4420 driver) and that too with little success as surprisingly only 8 letters were showing up :-). But any way back to my original question,

Is it possible to have a single arduino to do the job of both transmitting and receiving see the below for the products that i have bought
transmitter - http://www.rhydolabz.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=387
receiver - http://www.rhydolabz.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=386

So to try it out what i did was to power up and connected the TX pin from arduino to the transmitter data pin and RX pin in SAME arduino to the receiver data pin, and as far as the code is concerned (which was a little easy for me as i am a software engg) was to combine both the receiver and transmitter code in the KLP walkthrough tutorial. But in the arduino board only TX led used to glow all the time since i was transmitting continuously some numbers and RX never used to glow. IS this very stupid! or am i the first one to try this?

You can't transmit and receive at the same time, the transmitter blocks out any reception. So you have to arrange some way of powering off the traansmitter while you lisen with the receiver.

Grumpy_Mike: You can't transmit and receive at the same time, the transmitter blocks out any reception. So you have to arrange some way of powering off the traansmitter while you lisen with the receiver.

Thanks for your reply but what is the best way to switch off the supply like a relay or something? (again i feel very dumb :-))

Yes a relay is the simplest. You can also use a top switch, that is one that powers by switching the positive line.