Interfacing CMOS Linear Sensor Array (TLS1401)

Hi, I am somewhat new to all of this. My main background is software development so working with hardware interfaces is a bit of a leap.

I am trying to interface a TSL1401 CMOS linear sensor array (photodiodes) to my Arduino board. I am unclear on how the general concept works. The 1401 requires a Clock signal of between 5Khz and 2Mhz. It also requires a serial input pulse to start the conversion process. Then the 1401 will spit out 128 analog levels that I would presumably feed into the ADC of the Arduino.

Is there a general explanation somewhere that someone could point me to regarding timing, clocks, etc. ? Can the Arduino provide the Clock signal to the 1401 or would I want to provide that signal using an external oscillator circuit?

Any direction on this would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Kevin.

UPDATE: I think I am on to something here. I just discovered SPI. It seems like that is the direction I need to be heading?

Hello,

it's a year ago, you wrote this message. I want to connect the TSL 1401 to the Arduino Duemilanove too. With some optic (lens, prisma) i plan to make a primitiv spectroskop. Already found some examples of code on the web but i'm unexperienced with ASM code. Do you succeed with your project ? Can you provide some code snippets to drive this sensor ?

thx wally

I just bought two of the TSL1401’s also.
I’m going to try to get distance measurements out of them based on stereo data.

I’ll keep you posted.

Hello,

sounds interesting. Here the TSL 1401 is working very nice. I can produce nice peaks already. Now going to TSL1402/1406.

Hi!

How did you do with optics? I can't figure how implement a small lens.

Pole

I can't figure how implement a small lens.

Take a piece of glass, grind away everything that doesn't look like a "lens", and polish what's left ;D