Interfacing MIDI, reading, and Switching, noobie

Hello there,

I am new to the arduino programming community, but i have 3 projects in mind that would like some help with writing these programs.

the first program reads a midi input, and displays the 3 bytes on an LCD

the second program reads midi program changes and CC messages and changes relays, the third program functions similarly.

some parts of the programs i can take from tom scarff's source codes for drum controls, and the 13 switch CC controller.

My first task is to write the first program, so the flow is that the chip reads the 3 bytes of midi, and sends the to display on the LCD (sort of midi message tester). So, first questions, serial.begin() commands for midi and LCD are different, so should i at first initialize it for MIDI, read the messages and then initialize LCD and Display? (will post my syntax in a bit.

Thank you!

serial.begin() commands for midi and LCD are different,

If you are using a serial LCD then you can't use MIDI as well. unless you:- 1) Use an arduino mega as that has 4 serial ports 2) Use the software serial library to connect your serial LCD 3) Use a parallel LCD so you don't need more than one port. See the MIDI section of:- http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Main/InterfacingWithHardware#Communication

so using the 4bit LCD library i can use a midi serial input and write it out to the LCD right?

My rough idea for the flow is have a momenatry switch on one of the output pins to ground, so that at first the chip scans the first input byte and displays it on the LCD, then waits for the button to be pressed before showing the next byte; but to do this, should i first make the chip scan all the 3 bytes in a row? or can i do it one by one? (meaning scan once, then wait until button is pressed and scan again?)

Thank you!