Interfacing the Arduino with Audio player chip?

Hi everyone I'm new to the Arduino and I'm working on a project for my Elec class at the technical college around here and I'm trying to make an Audio player for a project and I was wondering what people think is the easiest chip to program and interface with the arduino. Chips I've looked at are the STA013 and the VS1053 and I had someone recommend just using a DAC and using uncompressed WAV files.

If it helps the project I'm working on is a ammo counter/sound module for a Costume Prop Gun

Thanks, Peter

If it helps the project

Helps? Absolutely vital information because it gives an idea of the sound quality required. I would go for a D/A and an SD card to hold WAV samples. The wave shield from Lady Ada is good for this.

So would I want to use the MCP4921 for sure or are there other DACs I would want to considder?

are there other DACs I would want to considder

Yes there are lots:- http://uk.farnell.com/jsp/search/browse.jsp?N=500006+1004458&Ntk=gensearch_001&Ntt=D%2FA&Ntx=mode+matchallpartial

Maybe too many for you to choose from.

So how do know which to use?

Decide on what resolution you want from the D/A, then what interface method you want to use, then look at the price and then the availability.

what interface would you recommend for a beginner at programming the arduino?

As for Resolution, from that link you gave me it looks like 24 bit is the highest Any reason I wouldn't want to get a 24?

Any reason I wouldn't want to get a 24?

Yep plenty It's too expensive, It's too difficult to make a layout that gives you 24 bit resolution. It's more than the human ear can cope with. It's taking a lot of memory to feed it, thus cutting down on the maximum sample rate you can use.

You appear to want to design a system yourself with little idea of what you are doing. What's wrong with the Lady Ada wave shield. It's open source so you can make it yourself if you don't wan to but the kit.