Interfacing with Cheap USB GPS

Well this is my first post, Here goes.

I just got my first arduino ~ 3 days ago. I've been experimenting with things, and I'd love to mess around with GPS. I could order a GPS module, but wheres the fun in that? I remembered I had a cheap USB GPS reciever that came with a laptop I got from ebay. It was cheap, and had an onboard USB to Serial chip no doubt. I cracked it open hoping to find something simple (really had no idea what i was looking for) but it was all surface mount and the only 4 wires coming off the board are for the USB cable. I snooped around and saw a tiny little chip on there labeled pl2303HXD which sure enough is a usb to serial thingy. I found a pinout on google here (can't post a link in my first post >:()

I see a RXD, a TXD, and the VDD_325 which I think is power. Is this possible to interface with the arduino like any other GPS module? Or is my thinking totally wrong? I am a noob at this stuff so sorry if it is.

Any ideas?

Here is the Pinout its on page 12 http://www.prolific.com.tw/support/files/%5CIO%20Cable%5CPL-2303HX%5CDocuments%5CDatasheet%5Cds_pl2303HXD_v1.1.pdf

Is this possible to interface with the arduino like any other GPS module? Or is my thinking totally wrong? I am a noob at this stuff so sorry if it is.

In theory, yes - you already have half of the information needed.

Now you just need to find out what GPS module is being used, and the datasheet for it. Then you can find out what connections are being common between the two chips, and then (once again, in theory) interface to the GPS module.